Utah Library State Park Pass: How to Borrow One

Updated 2026-10-01 · Free · No sign-up

At some libraries. Annual Park Pass Library Program (also called 'Check it Out') runs in parts of Utah — call your branch before you drive. Verified against ksl.com, checked 2026-09-04.

At a glance

ProgramAnnual Park Pass Library Program (also called 'Check it Out')
What it coversAn annual Utah State Parks day-use pass that admits the checkout holder plus up to 7 guests in the same private vehicle for one day at most Utah state parks. Not valid at This Is The Place Heritage Park; does not cover the Davis County Causeway fee at Antelope Island State Park.
How to borrowUtah State Parks partners with municipal/county library systems to place annual passes in libraries; residents check out a pass the same way they'd check out a book or CD. Participating libraries have included locations in American Fork, Salt Lake City, Cedar City, Grand County, and others.
Day-use cost otherwiseNot specified on the official Passes page fetched; Utah sells Digital Day-Use, Annual Day-Use, Honor, and Veterans Adventure passes with a senior (65+) discount — confirm current dollar amounts at parkspass.utah.gov.
Sourceksl.com · checked 2026-09-04

Worth knowing

Confirmed by Utah local news coverage (KSL.com, Deseret News, Moab Times) referencing Utah State Parks' own program, but a current, dedicated official program page describing loan terms could not be located on stateparks.utah.gov at time of check — the site's main Passes page did not mention it. Given as news-sourced per the 'only news coverage exists' rule.

How borrowing works in Utah

Because Annual Park Pass Library Program (also called 'Check it Out') runs through participating libraries rather than every Utah branch, the first move is a call to your own library — if they hold passes, they check out like books, usually one per household with holds allowed. The borrowed pass covers an annual Utah State Parks day-use pass that admits the checkout holder plus up to 7 guests in the same private vehicle for one day at most Utah state parks. Not valid at This Is The Place Heritage Park; does not cover the Davis County Causeway fee at Antelope Island State Park.. Nothing overnight is included — campsites, cabins and launches are reserved and paid separately.

How Utah compares

Utah is one of 8 states in this situation. Traveling? Connecticut, Idaho, Indiana, Maine work the same way.

Before you drive: the Utah checklist

  • Hold the pass first. Annual Park Pass Library Program passes are checked out like any library item; make sure one is actually available (or held for you) before committing to a Utah trip, particularly in peak season.
  • Check which parks honor it. An annual Utah State Parks day-use pass that admits the checkout holder plus up to 7 guests in the same private vehicle for one day at most Utah state parks. Not valid at This Is The Place Heritage Park; does not cover the Davis County Causeway fee at Antelope Island State Park..
  • Camping is never included. In every state's program, overnight sites, cabins and boat launches are booked and billed on their own.
  • Bring your library card and call ahead. The pass rides on an active Utah card, and only participating branches stock passes — a two-minute call saves a wasted stop.

Check all 50 states — 20 statewide programs, 8 partial, 10 free-entry states, every entry checked at the source.

↥ Check another state →   Browse all state park pass guides →

FAQ

Can I borrow a state park pass from a Utah library?

At participating libraries — Annual Park Pass Library Program (also called 'Check it Out') doesn't cover every system. Utah State Parks partners with municipal/county library systems to place annual passes in libraries; residents check out a pass the same way they'd check out a book or CD. Participating libraries have included locations in American Fork, Salt Lake City, Cedar City, Grand County, and others.

What does Utah state park entry normally cost?

Not specified on the official Passes page fetched; Utah sells Digital Day-Use, Annual Day-Use, Honor, and Veterans Adventure passes with a senior (65+) discount — confirm current dollar amounts at parkspass.utah.gov.. That's the per-visit saving the library pass delivers.

Does the borrowed pass cover camping?

It doesn't — every program of this kind lends day-use entry only, with campsites, cabins and launches billed separately.

Related