Not yet. We could not verify any official library park-pass program in Texas. Verified against tpwd.texas.gov, checked 2026-09-04.
| Program | None found |
|---|---|
| What it covers | — |
| How to borrow | — |
| Day-use cost otherwise | Texas State Parks Pass (annual): $70 for the primary cardholder; a second pass for someone at the same address is $25. Some parks charge no entry fee at all; day-use per-person fees vary by park (not listed on the pages checked). |
| Source | tpwd.texas.gov · checked 2026-09-04 |
Checked Texas Parks & Wildlife Dept.'s own passes and pass-FAQ pages directly — neither mentions a library lending/checkout program for the Texas State Parks Pass, and no page could be found on TPWD or the Texas State Library and Archives Commission (TSLAC) sites describing one. Several low-quality, non-official blog sites (not news outlets) claim a 'Texas library state park pass' program exists, but this could not be verified against any official government source, so it is not reported as confirmed here.
Until an official program exists, the honest options: budget the $70 day-use fee, check whether your destination park has free-entry days (checked Texas Parks & Wildlife Dept.'s own passes and pass-FAQ pages directly — neither mentions a library lending/checkout program for the Texas State Parks Pass, and no page could be found on TPWD or the Texas State Library and Archives Commission (TSLAC) sites describing one. Several low-quality, non-official blog sites (not news outlets) claim a 'Texas library state park pass' program exists, but this could not be verified against any official government source, so it is not reported as confirmed here.), and ask your library about OTHER lendable passes — many Texas systems circulate museum and attraction passes even without a state-park one. 20 states do run statewide programs, so it's worth an occasional re-check; we re-verify this page on our refresh cycle.
For comparison: the 20 statewide programs all follow the same shape — the parks agency or state library seeds day-use passes into public-library circulation, a resident checks one out like a book for one to three weeks, and the pass covers gate entry (never camping). California, Colorado and New York are the reference implementations — and the model Texas would most likely copy if its libraries and parks agency ever partner up. Texas is one of 12 states with no borrowable pass we could verify, so residents' realistic options are the fee-free parks and alternate discounts listed above.
No official program existed as of our last check (2026-09-04). Checked Texas Parks & Wildlife Dept.'s own passes and pass-FAQ pages directly — neither mentions a library lending/checkout program for the Texas State Parks Pass, and no page could be found on TPWD or the Texas State Library and Archives Commission (TSLAC) sites describing one. Several low-quality, non-official blog sites (not news outlets) claim a 'Texas library state park pass' program exists, but this could not be verified against any official government source, so it is not reported as confirmed here.
Texas State Parks Pass (annual): $70 for the primary cardholder; a second pass for someone at the same address is $25. Some parks charge no entry fee at all; day-use per-person fees vary by park (not listed on the pages checked)..