Heard Museum Free Days

Updated 2026-10-02 · Free · No sign-up

Heard Museum is free 1st Friday monthly. Free admission on First Friday evenings (confirmed via multiple official heard.org event pages, e.g. Oct 3, 2025 and Apr 3, 2026, each headlined 'First Friday | Free Admission'). Reported hours vary slightly by event listing (roughly 4-8pm, with the Coffee Cantina open until 7:30pm); some third-party listings note the program skips March. The general recurring monthly pattern and any exceptions were not stated on a single official 'program overview' page — each month has its own individual heard.org event page instead. Not stated as required Verified on Heard Museum's own page, last checked 2026-09-04.

At a glance

Free day1st Friday monthly
Who qualifiesEveryone
ReservationNot stated as required
What's includedAll galleries, current exhibitions, Heardlings Family Activity Room
Regular adult price$26 adult (per third-party ticket sources; not itemized on the heard.org pages fetched this session)
Sourceheard.org · checked 2026-09-04

The math

Regular adult admission at Heard Museum is $26, so timing the visit to the free window keeps $52 in a couple's pocket and up to $104 for a family of four — each month it comes around. And since this free day is open to everyone, it's the cheapest possible way through the door. The catch is capacity, not money: free slots are reserved in advance and the popular dates go first, so the reservation is the real currency here.

Upcoming free days

  • Friday, Nov 6, 2026
  • Friday, Dec 4, 2026
  • Friday, Jan 1, 2027
  • Friday, Feb 5, 2027
  • Friday, Mar 5, 2027
  • Friday, Apr 2, 2027

Dates computed from the published schedule rule as of 2026-10-02 — an institution can still cancel one for a private event or holiday. Confirm on the official page before you go.

Know before you go

  • Who qualifies: everyone — no residency requirement on this one.
  • Reservations: Not stated as required.
  • What's covered: All galleries, current exhibitions, Heardlings Family Activity Room.
  • Schedule detail: First Friday evening, most months (reportedly excluding March, not independently confirmed); exact hours vary slightly by month per individual event listings.
  • Worth knowing: The Heard Museum doesn't publish one evergreen 'First Friday' policy page — it posts a fresh official event page for each month, so specific hours can shift slightly month to month; check the current month's own heard.org event page before publishing exact times.
  • Another way in free: Heard Museum participates in Museums on Us — Bank of America cardholders get free general admission on the first full weekend of every month, independent of the schedule above.

Other ways in, no calendar required

  • Bank of America cardholders skip the calendar entirely at Heard Museum: Museums on Us covers one free general admission on the first full weekend of every month, card + photo ID at the desk.
  • Museums for All is worth knowing for any museum trip: a SNAP EBT card plus photo ID gets up to four people in for free to $5 at 1,700+ participating institutions nationwide — during all normal hours, not just special days. Check whether Heard Museum participates on the official list.
  • An art- or history-museum membership from another city may already cover Heard Museum: check the NARM roster with our reciprocity lookup — a qualifying membership travels to 1,400+ museums.

Dates don't line up?

Regular tickets ($26 adult (per third-party ticket sources; not itemized on the heard.org pages fetched this session)) are on heard.org — book direct, there's no markup. A membership card from another city's museum or zoo might work here too — the reciprocity lookup answers it in one search.

Also free in Phoenix

Phoenix Art Museum (wednesdays 3pm–8pm) — or see the full free museum days in Phoenix guide.

Free days, monthly

One short email a month with Phoenix's verified free days — the dates, the resident rules, nothing else.

No spam, unsubscribe any time by replying. See our privacy policy.

↥ Check another museum →   Browse all free museum & zoo days →

FAQ

When is Heard Museum free?

Free admission on First Friday evenings (confirmed via multiple official heard.org event pages, e.g. Oct 3, 2025 and Apr 3, 2026, each headlined 'First Friday | Free Admission'). Reported hours vary slightly by event listing (roughly 4-8pm, with the Coffee Cantina open until 7:30pm); some third-party listings note the program skips March. The general recurring monthly pattern and any exceptions were not stated on a single official 'program overview' page — each month has its own individual heard.org event page instead.

Do I need a reservation for Heard Museum's free days?

Not stated as required

What does a free day at Heard Museum include?

All galleries, current exhibitions, Heardlings Family Activity Room

How much is Heard Museum normally?

$26 adult (per third-party ticket sources; not itemized on the heard.org pages fetched this session). That's what a well-timed visit saves you.

How much does a family save on a Heard Museum free day?

At $26 per adult, two adults keep $52 and a group of four paying adult prices keeps up to $104 per visit — before parking and extras.

Related